Kaspersky Small Office Security 2.0 (Personal Computer)

 
 
 

What is Unused Data Clearing Wizard in Kaspersky Small Office Security 2 for Personal Computer?

Back to "Additional Tools"
2012 Jan 24 ID: 5509
 
 
 
 

Applies to Kaspersky Small office Security 2 for Personal Computer

The system may often accumulate too many temporary or unused files which reduces its performance. All applications or operating systems create temporary files when started. But some of them remain undeleted when closing the application or operating system. Temporary and unused files often require too large amounts of memory. Additionally, they may be exploited by malicious programs.

Kaspersky Small Office Security 2 for Personal Computer includes the Unused Data Clearing Wizard. Using the wizard you can delete unused information from your computer.

Unused information includes the following files: 

  • system event logs, where the names of all active applications are recorded
  • event logs of various applications (such as Microsoft OfficeMicrosoft VisioMacromedia Flash Player) or update utilities (such as Windows UpdaterAdobe Updater)
  • system connection logs
  • temporary files of Internet browsers (cookies)
  • temporary files remaining after installation / removal of applications
  • Recycle Bin contents
  • files in the TEMP folder whose volume may grow up to several gigabytes.

How to start the wizard?

  1. open the main application window
  2. go to the Tools tab and on the right hand part of the window, click Additional Tools

  1. on the Additional Tools window, click on the Delete unused data button

  1. on the General information window, click Next

  1. wait until the search for unused files is complete
  2. on the Search for unused files is complete window, check the boxes for actions which will be performed by the wizard. The list includes three sections:
    • Additional actions
    • Recommended actions
    • Strongly recommended actions

To start the deletion process click Next

  1. wait until the deletion process is completed
  2. on the Files deletion is complete window, click Finish

  1. on the Additional Tools window, click Close
  2. close the main application window.
 
 
 
 
Did the provided info help you?
Yes No