The settings of an update installation task may require approval of updates that are to be installed. You can approve updates that must be installed and decline updates that must not be installed.
For example, you may want to first check the installation of updates in a test environment and make sure that they do not interfere with the operation of devices, and only then allow the installation of these updates on client devices.
The usage of the Approved status to manage third-party update installation is efficient for a small amount of updates. To install multiple third-party updates, use the rules that you can configure in the Install required updates and fix vulnerabilities task. We recommend that you set the Approved status for only those specific updates that do not meet the criteria specified in the rules. When you manually approve a large amount of updates, performance of Administration Server decreases and may lead to Administration Server overload.
To approve or decline one or several updates:
The information box for the selected objects appears on the right side of the workspace.
The default value is Undefined.
The updates for which you set the Approved status are placed in a queue for installation.
The updates for which you set the Declined status are uninstalled (if possible) from all devices on which they were previously installed. Also, they will not be installed on other devices in future.
Some updates for Kaspersky applications cannot be uninstalled. If you set the Declined status for them, Kaspersky Security Center will not uninstall these updates from the devices on which they were previously installed. However, these updates will never be installed on other devices in future. If an update for Kaspersky applications cannot be uninstalled, this property is displayed in the update properties window: in the Sections pane select General, and in the workspace the property will appear under Installation requirements. If you set the Declined status for third-party software updates, these updates will not be installed on devices for which they were planned but have not yet been installed. Updates will still remain on devices on which they were already installed. If you have to delete them, you can manually delete them locally.