Adding a role

May 23, 2024

ID 207675

To add a role:

  1. In the window of the application web interface, open the management console tree and select the Accounts section.

    This opens the role list.

  2. Click Add.

    This opens the role adding window.

  3. In the Role name field, enter the name of the role.
  4. In the Permissions group of settings, select check boxes next to permissions that the role must have:

    Functional area

    Permission name

    Description

    Dashboard and reports

    View dashboard and reports

    With this permission, the user can view Dashboard and Reports sections, but not modify settings in these sections.

    Manage dashboard and reports

    With this permission, the user can modify report settings as well as view information in Dashboard and Reports sections.

    Settings

    View settings

    This permission allows the user to view application settings in the Settings section, but not to modify them.

    Edit settings

    This permission allows the user to modify application settings in the Settings section.

    This permission also allows the user to view application settings.

    Manage SSH access

    This permission allows the user to connect to any cluster node over the SSH protocol to manage the application in Technical Support Mode using the command line.

    This permission also allows the user to view application settings.

    Rules

    View rules

    This permission allows the user to view the table of message processing rules. The user cannot add or delete rules, or modify rule settings.

    Create/edit rules

    This permission allows the user to add message processing rules as well as modify their settings.

    Delete rules

    This permission allows the user to delete message processing rules.

    Events

    View mail traffic events

    This permission allows the user to view information about traffic processing events.

    View program events

    This permission allows the user to view information about application events.

    Accounts

    View roles

    This permission allows the user to view the list of roles in the Accounts section. The user cannot add or delete roles, or modify role settings.

    Create/edit/assign/revoke roles

    This permission allows the user to add roles and modify role settings.

    This permission also allows the user to view the list of roles in the Accounts section.

    Delete roles

    This permission allows the user to delete roles.

    This permission also allows the user to view the list of roles in the Accounts section.

    Nodes

    View nodes information

    This permission allows the user to view information about nodes in the Nodes section. The user cannot add or delete servers, or modify server settings and roles.

    Create/edit/delete nodes

    This permission allows the user to add and remove cluster nodes as well as modify settings and roles of nodes in the cluster.

    This permission also allows the user to view cluster node information.

    Get diagnostic information

    With this permission, the user can get diagnostic information about cluster nodes.

    This permission also allows the user to view cluster node information.

    Check data integrity

    With this permission, the user can run an integrity check on cluster nodes as well as view integrity check results.

    This permission also allows the user to view cluster node information.

    Message Queue

    View messages information

    This permission allows the user to view information about the message queue and Anti-Spam Quarantine in the Message queue section.

    Flush messages

    This permission allows the user to force send a queued message without waiting for its turn.

    This permission also allows the user to view information about the message queue and the Anti-Spam Quarantine.

    Delete messages

    This permission allows the user to delete messages from the queue.

    This permission also allows the user to view information about the message queue and the Anti-Spam Quarantine.

    Backup

    View messages

    This permission allows the user to view information about objects in Backup in the Backup section.

    Deliver messages

    This permission allows the user to deliver to recipients those messages in Backup for which the Anti-Virus, Anti-Phishing, and Link Scanning modules did not detect any threats.

    This permission also allows the user to view information about objects in Backup.

    Deliver insecure messages

    This permission allows the user to deliver any messages from Backup to recipients.

    This permission also allows the user to view information about objects in Backup.

    Forward messages to any addresses

    This permission allows the user to forward messages from Backup to any address, if Anti-Virus, Anti-Phishing, and Link Scanning modules did not detect any threats in those messages.

    This permission also allows the user to view information about objects in Backup.

    Forward insecure messages to any addresses

    This permission allows the user to forward any messages from Backup to any addresses.

    This permission also allows the user to view information about objects in Backup.

    Delete messages.

    This permission allows the user to delete messages from Backup.

    This permission also allows the user to view information about objects in Backup.

    Save messages

    This permission allows the user to download messages from Backup if Anti-Virus, Anti-Phishing, and Link Scanning modules did not detect any threats in the messages.

    This permission also allows the user to view information about objects in Backup.

    Save insecure messages

    This permission allows the user to download any messages from Backup.

    This permission also allows the user to view information about objects in Backup.

    Allowlists and denylists

    View all allowlists and denylists

    With this permission, the user can view personal allowlists and denylists. The user cannot edit these lists.

    Manage all allowlists and denylists

    With this permission, the user can add, remove, and edit addresses in personal allowlists and denylists.

    With this permission, the user can also view all personal lists.

  5. Click Add.

The role is added.

After the user's next authentication in the web interface,, sections of the application web interface are displayed in accordance with the permissions that the user's role has.

See also

Managing roles and user accounts

Viewing role information

Changing role settings

Deleting a role

Assigning a role

Revoking a role

Changing the Administrator account password

Did you find this article helpful?
What can we do better?
Thank you for your feedback! You're helping us improve.
Thank you for your feedback! You're helping us improve.