Protecting data if a secure connection is lost
September 28, 2023
When you turn on a VPN, your data is reliably protected while you surf the internet. However, if the VPN connection drops, your data will be unprotected, and attackers can steal it. For example, while you're walking around a shopping mall, your phone switches from one Wi-Fi connection to another. Each time this happens, it takes Kaspersky VPN a few seconds to protect your new connection.
To ensure that your data is always protected, use Kill Switch. Kill Switch will cut off data transfer over the internet when the VPN is reconnecting. Your internet connection will be restored as soon as the VPN turns on.
By default, Kill Switch is turned off and Kaspersky VPN does not block your internet access if the VPN connection is interrupted.
To protect your data, Kill Switch blocks data transfer via the internet entirely, until the VPN is restored.
To use Kill Switch, you must turn on VPN restoration after a disruption.
To turn on Kill Switch:
- Open VPN.
- In the Settings section, enable Kill Switch.
- The app may prompt you to turn on VPN restoration after a disruption and to grant the required permissions. Follow the instructions in the app interface.
The application will block your internet access if the VPN connection is interrupted. You will be back online as soon as the VPN connection is restored.