Approving and declining software updates
Oct 23, 2023
The settings of an update installation task may require approval of updates that are to be installed. You can approve updates that must be installed and decline updates that must not be installed.
For example, you may want to first check the installation of updates in a test environment and make sure that they do not interfere with the operation of devices, and only then allow the installation of these updates on client devices.
To approve or decline one or several updates:
- In the main menu, go to Operations → Kaspersky applications → Seamless updates.
A list of available updates appears.
Updates of managed applications may require a specific minimum version of Kaspersky Security Center to be installed. If this version is later than your current version, these updates are displayed but cannot be approved. Also, no installation packages can be created from such updates until you upgrade Kaspersky Security Center. You are prompted to upgrade your Kaspersky Security Center instance to the required minimum version.
- Select the updates that you want to approve or decline.
- Click Approve to approve the selected updates or Decline to decline the selected updates.
The default value is Undefined.
The updates to which you assign Approved status are placed in a queue for installation.
The updates to which you assign Declined status are uninstalled (if possible) from all devices on which they were previously installed. Also, they will not be installed on other devices in future.
Some updates for Kaspersky applications cannot be uninstalled. If you set Declined status for them, Kaspersky Security Center Cloud Console will not uninstall these updates from the devices on which they were previously installed. However, these updates will never be installed on other devices in future.
If you set Declined status for third-party software updates, these updates will not be installed on devices for which they were planned but have not yet been installed. Updates will remain on devices on which they were already installed. If you have to delete the updates, you can manually delete them locally.